Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday #6: Summery Contemporaries

Top Ten Tuesday Logo-1
Hey bookish friends! Welcome back to another Top Ten Tuesday. TTT is hosted by our bookish friends over at The Broke and the Bookish. Be sure to check out their blog for topics!

This week is a summer freebie. So I decided to list tennine contemporaries I’m hoping to read this summer. These are in no particular order and all fall under the classic “summery contemporary” many bloggers and booktubers talk about. I read contemporaries all year round, but I want to read them even more in the summer. Some of these may be summer themed, some may take place in the school year. I’m not sure. But they look like fun, light reads that would be perfect for the pool or beach!

9. My Faire Lady by Laura Wetterson
This has been on my TBR for and ever. It’s about a girl named Ro who starts working at a Renaissance Faire to get over her heartbreak after catching her boyfriend cheating on her. Sounds like there might be a little bit of a love triangle in here but… there’s a Renaissance Faire. So. Basically I’m sold.

8. Wesley James Ruined My Life by Jennifer Honeybourn
I just saw this on someone’s blog recently, and just by looking at the cover, I knew it would be a cute, summery contemporary. All I remember about this book is that it comes out in July and our main character starts working at a medieval themed restaurant. Honestly, much like the Renaissance Fair, that’s all I had to hear, and I was committed. Oh, and I believe Wesley James – the titular life ruiner – will always work there. Gasp! Drama!

7. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
I’m sure you’ve all heard a lot about this one! It comes out in about a week and stars two Indian-American teens who are part of an arranged marriage. I believe they end up going to the same computer camp and one of the characters knows the other will be there… I believe it’s Rishi, and he thinks Dimple knows he’ll be there. Anyway, doesn’t matter. Sounds totally sweet and adorable, it’s been getting great reviews, and yay for Indian-American characters!

6. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
I’ve yet to read a Morgan Matson book. And for someone who loves cute and fun contemporaries, this makes zero sense. Her book covers are always adorable and they always sound fun. This one intrigues me the most. It’s about a girl whose best friend disappears mysteriously, but her best friend has left behind a bucket list. So our protagonist sets out to complete it. Sounds fun!

5. The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han
I honestly can’t believe I’ve never read this series. I feel like it’s not popular anymore, and honestly, I can barely remember what it’s about. A girl who goes to a beach house every summer with her family? I assume she used to be “one of the guys” and now she’s pretty. She’ll probably fall in love with someone there. I don’t know. But I remember thinking it sounded cute, and I just have to finally read it!

4. Cure for the Common Universe by Christian McKay Heidecker
After reading and enjoying The Impossible Fortressthis one seemed like the next logical step. This one’s about a teenage boy who gets his first date right before being committed to video game rehab. So he needs to get out of rehab – and fast – if he wants to make that date. It may involve lying, and it may involve cheating, but he’ll do it. Sounds like my kind of fun (and ridiculous) read!

3. Something Like Summer by Jay Bell
I’ve had this book on my TBR forever. I have no idea what it’s about. Honestly, I don’t even know if this should be classified as a “cute summery contemporary.” It might not be. But I’m pretty sure it’s a long, possibly companion series. And pretty sure every story is gay. So I have no idea why I haven’t gotten to this yet. But I really want to this summer!

2. Lucky in Love by Kasie West
After finishing The Fill-In Boyfriend and On the Fence, I decided I had to read every Kasie West book. Since they’re perfect for summer, I’m sure I’ll be reading most of them then. This one I’m especially excited about! It’s about a girl who wins the lottery, so of course suddenly everyone wants to be her friend and she doesn’t know who to trust. One of her coworkers, Seth Nguyen (Nguyen?? Are we really getting a Vietnamese love interest?? Score one for diversity), apparently doesn’t know the news, and she doesn’t want to tell him… look at that cover. So cute. I’m ready for it!

1. The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda was one of my favorite books last year. I read it in a day. So can someone please tell me why I haven’t read this book yet??? Honestly, I could not tell you what it’s about. I don’t really care either. I will read it, and I will probably love it. I believe Simon makes some appearances. There’s LGBT+ characters. It’s gonna be great.

So there it is! Have you guys read any of these books? What do you think? What’s on your list? And don’t forget to link me to your TTTs so I can check them out!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday #6: Summery Contemporaries

  1. So many fabulous books on this list! I’ve heard so many wonderful things about When Dimple Met Rishi and The Upside of Unrequited, so those are definitely at the top of my list as well. 🙂 And Lucky in Love sounds absolutely amazing too! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

