Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday #5: Best Fictional Moms

 

Top Ten Tuesday Logo-1
Background vector created by Freepik

Hello, bookish friends! It’s Tuesday again, which means it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday!

 

For anyone who may not know, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by our friends at The Broke and the Bookish. Check out their blog for topics!

This week, in honor of Mother’s Day on Sunday, is a mom-related freebie. I went simple, and am just going to be listing some of my favorite fictional moms! I’m not limiting this to just books because, as a lot of us noted last week, moms and parents in general seem to be missing a lot from our reading. Plus, I had to give a shoutout to some of my favorite moms who aren’t in books!

10. and 9. Stef and Lena Adams-Foster from The Fosters
Every time I watch this show, I think two amazing ladies like Stef and Lena do not deserve all the crap their kids give them. These two are amazing mothers to their five children – one biological from Stef’s previous marriage and four adopted. They are the most caring and supportive parents around. They make mistakes (oh, do they make mistakes), but their love for their children knows no bounds. One of my favorite quotes from this show is when Lena tells her daughter, Mariana, “DNA doesn’t make a family. Love does.” Preach, Queen Lena. Preach.

2532622_orig

8. Kate McCallister from Home Alone
Okay, okay. I know Kate boards a plane without Kevin twice, one time to leave the country. But hear me out! I’m one of five, and trust me, my parents accidentally left me home alone more than once. Just think of all Kate goes through to get back to her son. Not to mention in Lost in New York, she knows exactly where to find him in the end. Now that’s some great mama’s intuition. I cry ever time they’re reunited in Home Alone 2.

giphy3

7. Leigh Anne Tuohy from The Blind Side
Hello? Have you seen The Blind Side? If you have, I don’t really have to explain this to you. I don’t know how fictionalized the story is, so I’m talking about the Sandra Bullock version and not the real woman. But in the film, this lady is a force to be reckoned with. She doesn’t just take care of her own children, but Michael as well. If you haven’t seen this movie, it’s really inspiring and heartwarming. 10/10 would recommend.

200

6. Lorelai Gilmore from Gilmore Girls
Any fan of Gilmore Girls knows Lorelai is a great mom. She and Rory are closer to being best friends (she even says to Emily in an episode that she and Rory are best friends first and mother and daughter second), but that doesn’t mean Lorelai doesn’t pull the mom card when she has to. Yeah, Lorelai makes plenty of mistakes, not just when it comes to Rory. But she’s human, and we know how much she loves Rory and how much she sacrificed for her.  I’m also giving a special shoutout to Emily Gilmore. Despite her faults, she always means well. I always thought Lorelai was too hard on her. I simply adore Emily Gilmore.

tumblr_mz2zfrpuft1r4grm0o2_250

5. Cookie Lyon from Empire
Despite being absent from her children’s lives for a long time because, uh, she was in prison, Cookie still makes the list. There is nothing Mama Lyon wouldn’t do for her children. Believe me, if you cross Cookie Lyon’s path in a way that messes with her boys, you’ll regret it.

giphy1

4. Maria von Trapp from The Sound of Music
Maria proves even a stepmother can love children as her own, and children can love a stepmother as their own. If you somehow don’t know the story (please go watch the film right now), Maria begins as the children’s governess, and when she falls in love with their father, she becomes their stepmother. But even as their governess, it’s obvious how much she loves and cares for the von Trapp children. She’s truly an inspiration.

tumblr_mxjqhxq35j1qcm0m3o1_500

3. Callis from The School for Good and Evil
Callis is Agatha’s mother in this series. She’s tough, cool, and would do anything for Agatha. I don’t want to post spoilers, but the more I discovered about Callis, the more I loved her. The reason I loved her most is a maaaaajor spoiler, so I can’t say what it is. But just know this woman is amazing, and we’d all be lucky to have a mom like her.

giphy2

2. Marilla Cuthbert from the Anne of Green Gables series
Yeah, she’s tough. And yeah, she can be a little stoic. But Marilla Cuthbert is an amazing and inspiring mother figure to Anne. She doesn’t have much experience when she takes Anne in, and she definitely makes mistakes, but there’s no mistaking how much she loves Anne. Marilla probably wouldn’t want to he called mother – heck, she didn’t even want to be called Aunt. But we all know the truth.

anne-marilla

1. Molly Weasley from the Harry Potter series
Pretty sure Molly Weasley is going to be the top mom on a lot of people’s lists. Who better embodies a mom who does it all? Molly won me over for life the day she sent Harry that H sweater. She always welcomed him and made him feel part of the family, even if he wasn’t her blood. She’s fiercely protective of her family (both blood and “adopted”) and especially her children. She’s the kind of mom who is everyone’s de facto mom. And she’s badass to boot!

tenor

To all my mommy bloggers out there, Happy Mother’s Day! Who are some of your favorite fictional moms? Leave your TTT’s below so I can check out yours this week!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #5: Best Fictional Moms

  1. Kate McCallister from Home Alone! GREAT pick (I never would have thought about her, but yeah she’s awesome). And that Lorelai Gilmore GIF- “heavy metal rules”. That cracked me up. 🙂

    Maria von Trapp- nice as well. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

