Waiting On Wednesday

Waiting On Wednesday #1: The Love Interest by Cale Deitrich

Waiting On Wednesday - Mine
Background vector created by Freepik

Welcome to my first Waiting on Wednesday! This is a weekly meme started by Breaking the Spine, where we highlight books we’re looking forward to.

Now, there are a great number of books I’m looking forward to this spring, so I’ll plenty to do as the weeks go by. But this was the first book that came to mind…

This week I’m highlighting The Love Interest by Cale Deitrich. 

31145148

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

Release Date: May 16, 2017

Have you ever read a book description and thought to yourself, “Oh my God. It’s like someone reached into my heart and wrote a book exactly for me. ”

As I mentioned in yesterday’s Top Ten Tuesday, I’m a sucker for male/male romances. You’ll also learn if you stick around that I hate love triangles. There are also two things that make a love triangle worse for me:

  1. It’s the good guy vs. the bad boy. (She always picks the bad boy, and I don’t know why.)
  2. It’s brother vs. brother. (So you can guess I’m a huge fan of The Vampire Diaries… not. And another YA series I will not say by name because the brothers part is a spoiler!)

There are so many times where I’ve read a love triangle and thought to myself, “Man, I wish they’d just ditch the girl and kiss each other.” (Recent examples include Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices and Mary E. Pearson’s The Remnant Chronicles.)

And you know what this book is? A love triangle where teens are cultivated into YA tropes, with a good guy vs. a bad boy where the guys are supposed to be fighting for a girl but instead… kiss each other.

tumblr_mlsasf78of1qzd6kwo4_400

You can probably guess… I needed this book yesterday.

What books are you guys eagerly waiting for? Are any of you anticipating this book as much as I am? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday #1: The Love Interest by Cale Deitrich

Leave a Reply

